The General Meeting receives the annual reports of the Board as well as the annual accounts and discharges the Board after recommendation of the Board of Curators. Other tasks include resolutions on amendments to the statutes, the admission of members and the election of members of the Board of Curators.

The General Meeting is composed of representatives of academic research, for example the Rector of the University of Rostock, industrial research and representatives of the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (Ministry of Education, Science and Culture, BM MV) and the federal government (Federal Ministry of Education and Research, BMBF). The members elect the chair and deputy chair from among their number for a period of four years.

Members: Prof. Ralf Ludwig (chair, Universität Rostock), Prof. Dr. Norbert Stoll (deputy chair, Universität Rostock), representation of BM MV Holger Wandsleb; representation of BMBF Peter Hassenbach; Prof. Wolfgang Schareck, University of Rostock; Prof. Reinhard Schomäcker, TU Berlin; Prof. Manfred Hennecke, BAM (guest scientist); Dr. Christian Rein, BASF SE; Prof. Ulrich Bathmann, IOW Rostock-Warnemünde; Prof. Uwe Bornscheuer, University of Greifswald.

The Board of Curators is responsible for supervising all essential scientific and economic matters of the institute. It determines the guidelines for the institute's work and monitors the activities of the Board. Among other things, the Supervisory Board appoints the members of the Board, appoints members of the Scientific and Industrial Advisory Board and has the right to make proposals for the admission of members to the Association. The board of curators consists of appointed members (representatives of the federal government and the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the University of Rostock) as well as members elected for four years from industry and research. The board is chaired by the representative of the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Members: Representation oft he the of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern: Holger Wandsleb (chair); Vertretung des Bundes: Peter Hassenbach (deputy chair); representation University of Rostock: Prof. Elizabeth Prommer; Dr. Norbert Richter, Symrise AG; Prof. Michael Dröscher, Gesellschaft Deutscher Naturforscher und Ärzte (GDNÄ); Prof. Manfred Hennecke, BAM (guest scientist); Dr. Hans Jürgen Wernicke, DECHEMA; Prof. Barbara Albert, TU Darmstadt; Dr. Steffen Hasenzahl (Evonik Operations GmbH).

The Scientific and Industrial Advisory Board is an independent body and advises the Board, the Board of Curators and the General Meeting on scientific matters. It makes recommendations on the institute's work program, evaluates its scientific work and promotes contacts with institutions in Germany and abroad. The Scientific and Industrial Advisory Board consists of representatives from universities, research institutions and industry, who are appointed by the Board of Curators for a period of four years on the joint proposal of the Board and the Scientific and Industrial Advisory Board.

Members: Prof. Brigitte Voit (chair) Leibniz Institute for Polymer Research; Prof. Hansjörg Grützmacher, ETH Zürich; Prof. Martin Muhler, Ruhr University Bochum; Prof. Dr. Ivana Fleischer (deputy chair), University Tübingen; Prof. Dr. Richard Fischer, Technical University München; Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Beckhaus, Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg; Prof. Franziska Schönebeck, RWTH Aachen; Dr. Dorit Wolf, Evonik Operations GmbH; Prof. Ainara Nova, University of Oslo; Prof. Arne Thomas, Techncal University Berlin.