Curriculum Vitae - Prof. Dr. Matthias Beller

Academic Education

1982 - 1987

Study of chemistry at Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen

1987 - 1989

PhD thesis at the Institute for Organic Chemistry at Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen (Prof. Dr. L. F. Tietze)


Graduation with honors (Dr. rer. nat.)


postdoctoral stay with Prof. PhD K. B. Sharpless at Massachussetts Institute of Technology (USA)



1991 - 1993

Research chemist in the Central Research at Hoechst AG


Group leader of "Organometallic chemistry - catalysis" at the Central Research of Hoechst AG

1994 - 1995

Project leader of "Homogeneous catalysis" at Hoechst AG

1996 - 1998

Associate Professor for Inorganic chemistry at the Technical University of Munich

June 1998

Director of the “Leibniz-Institut für Organische Katalyse an der Universität Rostock e.V. (IfOK)” aligned with a full professorship "Catalysis" at the University of Rostock

March 2001

Call for a C4-Professorship for Industrial Chemistry at the RWTH Aachen, not accepted

Dec. 2005

Director of the newly founded „Leibniz-Institut für Katalyse e.V.”, (after the reunification of IfOK and ACA (Institute for Applied Chemistry Berlin-Adlershof) to form LIKAT)

Sep. 2006 Call for a W3-Professorship for Organic Chemistry at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, not accepted

Awards and other Activities

1990 - 1991

Liebig scholarship of Verband der Chemischen Industrie


Otto-Roelen-Medaille (Dechema)

1999 - 2007

Board member of the Dechema Section "Catalysis"

since 2001

Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of "Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis"

2001 - 2005

Member of the Editorial Board of "Journal of Molecular Catalysis A: Chemical"

since 2002

Member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of "Journal of Organometallic Chemistry"


Member of the convent for Technical Sciences of the Union of the German Science Academies (acatech)

2002 - 2007

Board member of German Catalysis Society „Connecat“

2002 - 2005

Board member of the Innovation Agency Mecklenburg-Vorpommern


Merck-Frost-Lectureship (Canada)

2003 - 2005

Board member of the Institute for „Angewandte Chemie (ACA)“ in Berlin-Adlershof




Degussa-Lecturer (University of Durham, UK)

2004 - 2006

Head of the Board of the German Catalysis Society „ConNeCat“

since 2005

Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of "Organic Process Research & Development"


Novo Nordisk-Lecturer (Denmark)

2005 - 2006 Head of the Board of the GDCH working group „Environmental and Sustainable Synthesis and Processes“

Leibniz-Prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft


Innovation Award (Hansestadt Rostock, Germany)


Verdienstorden am Bande der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

  Visiting Professor at the University of Sassari (Italy)
2006 - 2014 Head of the Board of the GDCH working group “Sustainable Chemistry”
since Sep. 2007 Member of the Board of the Department „Science and Technology of Life, Light and Matter“ at the University of Rostock
since Jan. 2008 Member of the Akademie der Wissenschaften in Hamburg (Academy of the Sciences)
since Jan. 2008 Chairman of the Editorial Boards of „ChemSusChem“
since July 2008

International Scientific Council of the TUM Catalysis Research Center
International Supervisory Board "Fundamental Catalysis Research in the Netherlands"

since Aug. 2008 Member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of "Topics in Organometallic Chemistry"
2008 - 2014 Member of the Board of the "German Catalysis Society", "GECATS"
November 2009 Visiting Professor at the University of Sassari (Italy)
2009 - 2016 Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of "ChemCatChem"
since June 2009 Member of the Board of  the "European Technology Platform SusChem"
since Oct. 2009 Member of the "Deutsche Akademie der Naturwissenschaften Leopoldina"
March 2010 Paul Rylander Award of the Organic Reactions Catalysis Society (USA)
2010 - 2017 Member of the Board of trustees of the journal "Angewandte Chemie"
Oct. 2010 “Karl Ziegler-Giulio Natta Lectureship” of the German and Italian Chemical Society
Otc. 2010 European Sustainable Chemistry Award of the EuChems
since July 2010 Member of "Technologie- und Innovationskreis Wirtschaft/Wissenschaft M-V"
Febr. 2011 Astra Zeneca-Lecture (University of Sheffield, UK)
Feb.- April 2011 American Chemical Society GCI Pharmaceutical Roundtable Lecturer
Jan. 2011 Visiting Lecturer of the Chemistry Research Promotion Center National Science Council Taiwan
Oct. 2011

Visiting Professor at the Univesity of Lausanne (EPFL) (Switzerland)

April 2012 Gay-Lussac-Humboldt Award of the French Academy of Sciences
April 2012

BASF-Lectureship of the Sripps-Institute, La Jolla, San Diego, USA

Oct. 2012 Visiting Professor at the University of Strasburg, France
since Nov. 2012 Vice-President of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Society, WGL

Since 2013

Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of “Synthesis”

Oct. 2013

Evonik-China-Lectureship, China

Jan. 2014

JSPS-Lectureship, Japanese Ministry of Science and Education

Since 2014

Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of “Organic Chemistry Frontiers” (RSC)

September 2014 Emil-Fischer-Medaille
2015 Member LOEWE-Advisory Board
  ERC Advanced Grant
  Fellow of ChemPubSoc Europe
  Honorary Doctor of the University Antwerp
  Member of the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2016 Honorary Doctor of the University of Rennes 1
  Visiting Professor at the Federal University of Lausanne (EPFL) (Switzerland)
since 2016 Member of Scientific Advisory Board of ARC CBBC
2017 Mellichamp Academic Initiative in Sustainability Lectureship (Southern California, USA)
  Karl Ziegler Prize from the GDCh, German Chemical Society
  Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award für Katalyse-Forschung (TU München und Chemieunternehmen Clariant)
2018 Hassel-Lecture, University Oslo (Norway)
  Gordon Stone Lecture, University of Bristol (UK)
  EAB Member SFB 1333 University of Stuttgart
  Highly cited Researcher 2018
2019 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the DWI (Leibniz-Institute for interactive materials)
  Spiers Memorial Award 2019 der Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
  Ehrenmitglied Chinese Chemical Society (CSC) 
  Highly Cited Researchers 2019
2020 Vorsitzender des Vereins "Wasserstoff-Energie-Cluster MV e. V.

Mitglied Chemistry Europe (European Chemical Societies Publishing

  Highly Cited Researchers 2020
2021 Highly Cited Researchers 2021

Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der C1 Green Chemicals AG


Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der SwissCAT+


Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats H2020 Twinning Project

  Mitglied des Fachbeirats des Fritz-Haber-Instituts der MPG

Luigi-Sacconi-Medaille 2022 der Italienischen Chemischen Gesellschaft

  Highly Cited Researchers 2022
2023 Mitglied des Fachbeirats SYNLETT (Thieme Verlag)
  Highly Cited Researchers 2023